Tutor MapSubjectsEnglish Tutors

Alexandra

Alexandra
Alexandra
Tutor
Exeter, Devon
Home Town: Exeter
Member Since: 9/26/2016
Last Login: 5 years ago
Response Rate: no data
Expected Response : no data

My Qualifications

PGCE
Plymouth University
Post Graduate Certificate in Education
pass  (2007)
QTS
General Teaching Council (GTC)
Teaching Qualification
pass  (2007)
BA
Canterbury Christ Church University
English and Art
2:1  (2003)

Verification Status

Tutors ID Verified
How references rated Alexandra
Professionalism
Reliability
Trustworthy

Rates summary: $20.00 to $30.00 per hour
ElementaryMiddle schoolHigh schoolAdult Learner
English$20$25$30$30

Related Links: English Tutors

Information about Alexandra

I am a fully qualified (and CRB checked) secondary school English teacher with 10 years of experience. I am offering English tutoring at any level: be it help grappling with grammar, conquering GCSE or excelling in A Level.

I live in Alphington, Exeter having moved from the South East in 2005. I am married with two young children and we also have a cat called Freddie!

For the last 10 years, I have taught English from age 11 to 18 with a specialism in English Language and, although my experience is in secondary education, I am also qualified to teach at primary level and would happily do so.

Whatever your child`s age, I will tailor lessons to suit their specific needs. I offer a preliminary session for free in which I will assess the student`s ability in different areas of English in order to create focussed targets. Once the targets are discussed and approved by you, the sessions are then built around these specific needs. I use varied resources and teaching methods to make the sessions as enjoyable as they are challenging and I will keep you updated weekly with progress via my Tutoring Progression Diary.

I work from home as I can offer a safe, friendly environment to learn in. However, if you would prefer I travel to you, please contact me to discuss this. I also cater for individuals or paired/group sessions - again, please contact me to discuss the different pricings.

My years of experience and my strong English language knowledge mean I can offer high quality, professional tutoring in a friendly home environment.

Availability: I am available for tutoring sessions 6-9pm Mondays to Fridays and Saturdays 9am-12pm.

Willing to travel: Home Only

Experience: I have a 2:1 degree in English Literature and Fine Art and a Post Graduate Certificate in Education in English.

I worked at a large secondary school in Devon for 9 years after qualifying in 2007. There I taught English Literature, English Language and Media Studies at Key Stage 3 (Years 7, 8 and 9) and Key Stage 4 (GCSE). Additionally, I set up A Level English Language at the school in 2007 and I taught and managed the course until my departure at the end of the last academic year.
I left the school on extremely good terms (to spend more time at home with my two girls) and they are happy to provide a reference to anyone requiring one.
Whilst usually teaching groups of up to 30, I also have plenty of years of experience teaching very small groups and individuals and so I have an extensive understanding of how to deliver the subject to best suit each individual student.


Alexandra
Alexandra